Entry phase for the IFOY Award 2014 starts in October ...

  • Entries for the IFOY Award 2014 invited in five categories. New categories "Automated Guided Vehicles" (AGV) and "Intralogistics Solutions" (IS).
  • Entry period starts on October 31, 2013.

Munich, Aug 29, 2013.  October 31 marks the start of the entry process for the 2nd International Forklift Truck of the Year Award, IFOY Award for short. Manufacturers of materials handling equipment and providers of intralogistics solutions will be able to submit their entries for one of the five awards at www.ifoy.org up to January 7, 2014. Applicants for the award must register by midnight of November 25, 2013.  
The new categories this year are "Automated Guided Vehicles" for partially or fully automated vehicles and "Intralogistics Solutions", formerly "Forklift Truck Solutions". This means that all intralogistics system providers can now submit entries for this prestigious award.

Entries for the IFOY Award  2014 are invited in five categories:

  1. Counter Balanced Trucks up to and including 3.5 tons
  2. Counter Balanced Trucks from 3.51 tons
  3. Warehouse Trucks like pedestrian-controlled warehouse trucks, tow tractors, seated/standup material handling devices, VNA trucks, reach trucks etc.
  4. Automated Guided Vehicles (AGV): driverless transport systems, shuttle systems, automated/partially automated materials handling equipment in the context of its applications
  5. Intralogistics Solutions: intralogistics system solutions that have been successfully implemented at a customer company

In the equipment categories, newly developed trucks, trucks that represent further developments or special models with significant technical improvements that came onto the European market after December 1, 2012 (AGV: June 1, 2012) are eligible for the award. It must be possible to order the entered truck based on an official price list. Studies, prototypes, blueprints or minor optical facelifts are not sufficient. The intralogistics solution must already have been successfully implemented in a company in the industrial, trading or service sector.

The winners of the International Forklift Truck of the Year Award are selected by a jury made up of internationally reputed trade journalists and leading European logistics media. The jury is independent and makes its decisions based on transparent criteria and specialist expertise. Before the jury makes its decision, the forklift trucks and materials handling equipment must undergo the purpose-developed IFOY Test over the course of one week. Among other things, the jury assesses the innovative quality, technology, design, ergonomics, handling, safety, cost effectiveness and sustainability of newly developed equipment. In the AGV category, the decisive factor is the innovative character of the automation technology in the context of its application options. The key criteria for intralogistics solutions include novel/innovative quality, customer benefit, sustainability and marketability. Entrants in the AGV and Intralogistics Solutions categories must present their solutions before the jury.

The sponsor of the IFOY Award is the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association. The IFOY Award 2014 will be presented to the winners on May 19, 2014 in Hannover during the CeMAT, the world's leading fair for intralogistics. (3,352 characters, incl. space characters)

You can find printable photos and IFOY logo variants in the press section at www.IFOY.org

The International Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY) recognises the year's best materials handling equipment and solutions in four categories. The aim of the non-profit organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the materials handling sector, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire intralogistics sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. A neutral test forms the basis for assessment by the jury. The sponsor of the IFOY Award is the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association, the presentation partner is the leading international CeMAT trade fair in Hannover. The headquarters of the IFOY Organisation are in Munich.

Members of the jury: Martin Althoff, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek Totaal (Netherlands), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner of Buro Andersom/Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Günther Hörbst, Editor-in-Chief Deutsche Logistik-Zeitung (DVZ) (Germany), Anders Karlsson, Editor-in-Chief Transport & Logistik iDag (Sweden), Peter MacLeod, Editor-in-Chief SHD Magazine (England), Bernd Maienschein, Editor-in-Chief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, Editorial Manager Tranzit and Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Isabel Rodrigo, Editor-in-Chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, publisher and Editor-in-Chief BUSINESS+LOGISTIC (Austria), Sascha Schmel, Managing Director of the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association (without voting rights), Dr. Petra Seebauer, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIK HEUTE (Germany), Sebastian Śliwieński, Editor-in-Chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Heres Stad, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek (Netherlands). Executive Jury Chairperson is Anita Würmser, logistics journalist and Managing Director of wuermser.communications (Germany).

Reproduction free of charge, courtesy copy requested.

Anita Würmser
Chair of the IFOY Jury
Postfach 1304
D - 85767 Unterföhring
Telefon: +49 (0)89 958 226-11
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.