IFOY Process
Four phases


Phase 1: Submission of entries (May to October)

During this phase, manufacturers of materials handling equipment have the opportunity to submit entries for the IFOY Award.
Registration for the competition is possible online.

Phase 2: Nomination (November to December)

During this phase, the jury nominates a maximum of five trucks and/or solutions from all the submitted entries in each category.

Phase 3: Testing and selection (February to March)

During this phase, all nominated trucks must undergo a IFOY Innovation Check purpose-developed IFOY test over the course of one week. The IFOY testing standard is based on the Andersom Test developed by Dutch trade journalist Theo Egberts. Since 1988, a total of 400 different forklift and warehouse trucks have undergone the Andersom Test. This has led to the creation of the biggest comparison database of independent test data anywhere in Europe and is considered the benchmark for the sector. The test assesses a number of criteria, including cost-effectiveness and energy efficiency, sustainability, safety, ergonomics and design. Following the test, the jury selects the winner in each category.

Phase 4: Announcement and award presentation (May/June)

The winners of the IFOY Awards will be announced at a ceremony.