IFOY Award 2013:
the Winners ...

  • Crown, Jungheinrich and Still win IFOY Awards in four categories
  • Award ceremony during the CeMAT@transport logistic in Munich

Munich, June 4, 2013.    The names of the winners of the first International Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY) Award were kept secret right up to the end. Then last Tuesday at 5:30 p.m., the 2013 results were revealed at the IFOY Award Night in Hall B1 of the CeMAT@transport logistic in Munich, where the delighted winners were presented with their metal and glass trophies. "This year, the issues of efficiency and customer benefit were the key factors in the jury vote. All nominated vehicles are leaders in their categories, and the decision was accordingly close", said Anita Würmser, Executive Chairperson of the IFOY Jury, at the presentation ceremony.

The award in the top truck category of counter balanced trucks up to 3.5 tons went to the RX 70 Hybrid from Still GmbH. In the opinion of the jury, this first diesel forklift with energy recovery system and electrical power transmission not only achieved unmatched low energy consumption during the IFOY test but also laid down a benchmark for the development of these trucks, taking the balance of ecology and economy into a new era.

The Hamburg-based Jungheinrich AG company scooped two awards. Its DFG/TFG 540 s diesel/gas machine with hydrostatic drive and a load capacity of 5 tons reigned supreme in the category of counter balanced trucks from 3.5 tons. Where extremely high loading performance is needed, during reversing for the loading and unloading of haulage trucks for example, the strengths of the hydrostatic drive – dynamic acceleration, fast reversing and precision steering – come fully into play. And it was ultimately these benefits that swayed the jury.

Jungheinrich's ETV/ETM 214/216 reach truck won the Warehouse Truck category in what was an exciting "photo-finish". In stating the reasons for its decision, the jury said that the highly reliable reach truck combines energy efficiency with excellent handling, great driving performance and a range of ergonomic features.

In the Forklift Truck Solutions category for intralogistics solutions, Crown Gabelstapler GmbH & Co. KG made a highly persuasive case with its InfoLink fleet management solution. Thanks to a totally new and far more efficient forklift fleet less than half the size of the previous one combined with the "InfoLink" fleet management system, the materials handling specialist succeeded in cutting maintenance and repair costs at UK office supplies wholesaler Spicers by 90 percent at the end of 2012 - an outcome that also impressed the international jury with members from eight countries.

IFOY Award 2013:  the Winners
Category: Counter Balanced Truck up to 3.5t

  • RX 70 Hybrid, Still

Category: Counter Balanced Truck from 3.5 t

  • DFG/TFG 540 s diesel and LPG counter balanced truck, Jungheinrich

Category: Warehouse Truck

  • ETV/ETM 214/216 reach truck from Jungheinrich
  • Liftrunner concept from Still

Category: Forklift Truck Solutions (System Solutions)

  • Crown: deployment of the InfoLink fleet management concept for Spicers, the UK wholesaler of office supplies and consumables


The International Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY) recognises the year's best materials handling equipment and solutions in four categories. The aim of the non-profit organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the materials handling sector, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire intralogistics sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. A neutral test forms the basis for assessment by the jury. The sponsor of the IFOY Award is the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association. The patron is the German Ministry of Economics and Technology, the presentation partner is the leading international CeMAT trade fair in Hannover. The headquarters of the IFOY Organisation are in Munich.
Members of the jury: Martin Althoff, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek Totaal (Netherlands), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner of Buro Andersom/Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Günther Hörbst, Editor-in-Chief Deutsche Logistik-Zeitung (DVZ) (Germany), Anders Karlsson, Editor-in-Chief Transport & Logistik iDag (Sweden), Peter MacLeod, Editor-in-Chief SHD Magazine (England), Bernd Maienschein, Editor-in-Chief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, Editorial Manager Tranzit and Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Isabel Rodrigo, Editor-in-Chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, publisher and Editor-in-Chief BUSINESS+LOGISTIC (Austria), Sascha Schmel, Managing Director of the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association (without voting rights), Dr. Petra Seebauer, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIK HEUTE (Germany), Sebastian Śliwieński, Editor-in-Chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Heres Stad, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek (Netherlands). Executive Jury Chairperson is Anita Würmser, logistics journalist and Managing Director of wuermser.communications (Germany).

Reproduction free of charge, courtesy copy requested.

Anita Würmser
Chair of the IFOY Jury
Postfach 1304
D - 85767 Unterföhring
Telefon: +49 (0)89 958 226-11
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.